SHOSTAKOVICH. The Limpid Stream. A ballet in three acts. Music by Shostakovich.



4to. Original paper wrappers. Colour plates and b/w illustrations. Covers rubbed and frayed at yapped edges. The Limpid Stream (Russian: ??????? ?????, also translated as The Bright Stream) is a ballet in 3 acts, 4 scenes, composed by Dmitri Shostakovich on the libretto by Adrian Piotrovsky and Fyodor Lopukhov, with choreography by Fyodor Lopukhov. It premiered in Leningrad’s Mikhaylovsky Theatre in 1935. The critical reaction to the ballet saw Piotrovsky sent to his death in the gulag.

Item details

Publisher: Mikhaylovsky Theatre.
Date: 1935
Place: Leningrad.
Edition: First edition
Condition: Very Good
Book ID: 035283

Enquire about this item